Virtuosos Award Recognizes Best Performances

Fans line up to see award recipients

Virtuosos Awards

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - The 29th Santa Barbara International Film Festival honored actors for their standout performances in the past year.

The 2014 Virtuosos Award winners include  Daniel Brühl ("Rush"), Adèle Exarchopoulos ("Blue Is The Warmest Color"), Oscar Isaac ("Inside Llewyn Davis"), Michael B. Jordan ("Fruitvale Station"), Brie Larson ("Short Term 12"), Jared Leto ("Dallas Buyers Club") and June Squibb ("Nebraska").

Bruhl, Exarchopoulos and Issac had work commitments that prevented them from attending the ceremony at the Arlington.

But the other actors signed autographs for their fans before walking the red carpet into the theater.

During the ceremony a member of the audience heckled Leto about his role as a transgender AIDS patient. Leto suggested they work out their differences after the ceremony.

June Squibb said she new her part in "Nebraska" was special, but she didn't expect to be part of the award season.  Squibb and Leto are nominated for Oscars.

Jordan said he wanted to portray Oscar Grant in "Fruitvale Station" because he believed there are so many others like him whose stories will never see the light of day.

Larson said she enjoyed portraying a teacher in "Short Term 12" because she remembers what it was like when she was a student and a child actor.

The Award presentation was sponsored by Travel + Leisure.

comments powered by Disqus

Top Local Stories