Gary Oldman will receive the 2018 SBIFF Maltin Modern Master Award

Friday, February 2 at 8:00 p.m.

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - The Santa Barbara International Film Festival will be honoring actor Gary Oldman with the year's Maltin Modern Master Award for his longstanding contributions to the film industry culminating with Focus Features’ "Darkest Hour". 

The Modern Master Award was established in 1995 and is the highest accolade presented by SBIFF. The award was created to honor an individual who has enriched our culture through accomplishments in the motion picture industry.

The award was re-named the Maltin Modern Master Award in 2015 in honor of long-time SBIFF moderator and renowned film critic Leonard Maltin.

Past recipients include Denzel Washington, Michael Keaton, Bruce Dern, Ben Affleck, Christopher Plummer, Christopher Nolan, James Cameron, Clint Eastwood, Cate Blanchett, Will Smith, George Clooney and Peter Jackson.

Leonard Maltin will be moderating the event for his 27th year at the Arlington Theater in Santa Barbara.

The event will take place on Friday, Feb. 2, 2018, at 8 p.m.

To purchase tickets, click here.

comments powered by Disqus

Top Local Stories